Match Reports‎ > ‎

1st Rd Champ win for Ruan

posted May 24, 2013, 12:48 PM by Unknown user
Ruan .4-13   Éire Óg .2-15

    Hurling with a championship ferocity not matched by Éire Óg, Ruan scored a well-deserved win over the town club in Clarecastle last Saturday evening. 

Full-forward Aidan Lynch was Ruan’s main man, scoring 2-4, with both goals coming in the frantic closing minutes. 

The winners led 1-7 to 0-8 at half-time, with Patrick Keegan scoring their goal in the opening minute. When supplied with quick ball, the Éire Óg full-forward line looked sharp. David Reidy, Shane O’Donnell, David O’Halloran and Tadhg McNamara pointed for the Ennis club to keep them in contention. 

Under the cosh for periods in the first half, Ruan opened their shoulders late in the half with John Punch, Lynch and Jonathon Clohessy pointing. 

The Ennis men were dealt a serious blow early in the second half when David Reidy had to leave the field with an eye injury. Two Ronan Keane goals brought Éire Óg right back into it and, in fact, Ruan led by just two points, 2-11 to 2-13, minutes from time. Caimin Howard scored Ruan’s early first-half goal but Aidan Lynch’s late goals secured a famous win for Ruan, who played with admirable heart and determination. 

Ruan: Patrick Roughan (captain); Gary Bell, Niall O’Connor, Leon Quirke; Eoin Hanrahan, Jonathan Clohessy, Damien McDonnell; Killian Ryan, Tadhg Hanrahan; John Punch, Michael Vaughan, Brendan Lyons; Patrick Keegan, Aidan Lynch, Caimin Howard. 
Subs: Conal O’hÁiniféin for Brendan Lyons and Darragh Roughan for Leon Quirke. 
Scorers: Aidan Lynch (2-4), Caimin Howard, Killian Ryan (1-0) each, Jonathon Clohessy, John Punch (0-3) each, Tadhg McNamara, Michael Vaughan, Patrick Keegan (0-1 each). 

Éire Óg: Kevin Brennan; Liam Corry, John Mulcahy, Ciarán Hanna; Ciarán Russell, Kevin Moynihan, Aaron Fitzgerald; Ronan Keane, Marc O’Donnell; Barry Nugent, Brian Dolan, Graham Glynn; David O’Halloran, Shane O’Donnell, David Reidy. 
Subs: Thomas Downes for David Reidy (inj). 
Scorers: Ronan Keane (2-0), David Reidy (0-6), David O’Halloran (0-4), Shane O’Donnell, Graham Glynn (0-2) each, Brian Dolan (0-1). 

Referee: Jim Hickey (Cratloe).