Match Reports‎ > ‎

Div 2 League

posted Jun 1, 2012, 3:18 AM by Unknown user   [ updated Jun 1, 2012, 3:24 AM ]

RUAN………2-16  CRUSHEEN…………1-10

    Ruan won their second game in the Division 2 as Crusheen, in their first ever year at this level with their second side, have yet to get off the mark despite a spirited attempt in this Crusheen hosted tie on Sunday afternoon.

Aidan Lynch dominated at full forward in the first half scoring six points from frees and play and setting up the first half goal for Patrick Keegan. Crusheen fought hard to deny Ruan the second goal and were six points in arrears at the interval on a (1-9) to (0-6) scoreline.  Shaun Dillon (3), Colin Vaughan and Alan Touhy (2) were the first half scorers for the home side.

 Brendan Lyons opened the second half scoring only for three scores in a row from Vaughan (2) and Touhy to reduce the Ruan lead to five with Crusheen pressing hard. Wasteful efforts on the part of Crusheen when goal efforts were attempted in the last quarter only helped the Ruan cause. The game was decided when Brendan Lyons struck for the second Ruan goal  and despite a stunning goal from John Weir, three late points from Lynch and veteran John Punch sealed the win for Ruan.

RUAN: Pakie Roughan, Gary Bell, Niall O Connor, Leon Quirke, Declan O Regan, Cillian Ryan, Darragh Roughan, Tadgh Hanrahan (0-1), Mickey Vaughan(0-3), John Punch (0-1), Alan Bell, Eoin Hanrahan, Patrick Keegan (1-0), Aidan Lynch (0-9), Brendan Lyons (1-1).

CRUSHEEN: David McMahon, Conor Hayes, Donal Dillon, Tony McMahon, Jason Greene, Conor O Loughlin, Donal Wylde, Thomas Vaughan, Rory Halpin, Alan Touhy (0-3), Shaun Dillon (0-3), Yuan Horner, Niall Fitzgibbon (0-1), Patrick O Grady, Colin Vaughan (0-3). Subs: Niall Kearney for Touhy, John Weir (1-0) for Dillon

Referee: Ambrose Heagney (Corofin)

Ruan 4-26   Killanena  0-6

Ruan had an easy win over an understrength Killanena side at the weekend and, as a result, have moved to the top of the league table.
Two goals each from Aidan Lynch and Eoin Hanrahan helped the winners run up an impressive tally.

Ruan: Pakie Roughan; Gary Bell, Niall O’Connor, Leon Quirke; Killian Ryan, Jonathon Clohessy, Dara Roughan; Michael Vaughan, Tadhg Hanrahan; John Punch, Colin Donoghue, Robbie O’Loughlin; Patrick Keegan, Aidan Lynch, Eoin Hanrahan.
Subs: Caimin Howard for Punch; Damian Brohan for Lynch; John Hurley for Ryan; Damian McDonnell for Donoghue and Sean Cullinan for Quirke.
Killanena: David Noone; Francis McNamara, Joe Clancy, Paul McArthur; Shane Moroney, Patrick Noone, Stephen McMahon; Alan McNamara, Todd Kelsey; TJ Woods, Fintan McNamara, Michael Noonan; Evan McNamara, Noel Sheedy, John O’Brien. 

Sixmilebridge 0-12   Ruan 0-11 

Sixmilebridge made their trip to Ruan a fruitful one as they avenged last year’s championship defeat to the hosts with a narrow win.

Sixmilebridge were without a few regulars on the day due to exams and injury but nevertheless put in a strong performance with David O’Connor, Stiofan Fitzpatrick, Cyril Crowe, Thomas Liddy and Sam O’Sullivan all getting on the score sheet.

Those who performed best for the winners were Pa Freeman, Kevin Phelan, Ger Quilligan, Tommy Morey and David O’Connor.

Sixmilebridge: Pa Freeman; Cathal Walsh, Kevin Phelan, Ger Quilligan; Sean Stack, Tommy Morey, Jonathan Downes; Sam O’Sullivan, Anthony Liddane; Darragh O’Connor, Noel Purcell, David O’Connor; Thomas Liddy, Stiofain Fitzpatrick, Errol Tuohy.
Subs: Cyril Crowe and Alan Mulready.

Ruan: Pakie Roughan; Gary Bell, Niall O’Connor, Leon Quirke; Killian Ryan, Jonathon Clohessy, Dara Roughan; Michael Vaughan, Tadhg Hanrahan, Robbie O’Loughlin; Colin Donoghue, John Punch; Patrick Keegan, Aidan Lynch, Eoin Hanrahan.
Subs: Brendan Lyons for O’Loughlin; Damian Brohan for Donoghue; Padraig Brennan for Fahy.