Match Reports‎ > ‎

U14D Final

posted Jun 7, 2012, 3:12 PM by Unknown user   [ updated Jun 7, 2012, 3:15 PM ]
Ruan 2-5   Ennistymon 1-3

    Ruan captured the U-14D title at a wet Cusack Park on Saturday but they were made fight all the way by gallant Ennistymon who will be wondering what the outcome might have been had they converted all of their chances, especially in the second half. Ennistymon were first to score when their midfielder and captain Dirring McNamara pointed a 35m free. However this was to be their only score in the first period as Ruan dominated with Colin Haugh in great form. 
Haugh was to score 1-4 (1-3f) of Ruan’s 1-5 in this period, his goal from a free after the Ennistymon goalie Joe Kivlehan was deemed to have picked the ball from the ground in the tenth minute. Eoin McMahon was the other Ruan payer to score with an excellent long range free.
Ennistymon resumed in the second period with Aaron O’Brien in goal. When he was slow to clear his line Ruan corner-forward Alan McDonald pounced to score his sides second goal. Incredibly this was to be Ruan’s last score as Ennistymon dominated with Dirring Mc Mamara and Luke Howley ruling the roost at midfield. 
    In the 12th minute Ennistymon’s Derek McInerney had a great goal chance but his shot went narrowly wide. Ennistymon substitute Patrick O’Rourke had an excellent point on 15 minutes from the 45m mark. 
Ennistymon were now in all-out attack mode and were rewarded with a great run by Brian Considine who passed to captain McNamara who finished to the net. 
    It was game on now with Ruan defending for their lives and David Hehir and Ross O’Donovan clearing time and time again. Ruan’s best player Haugh was now back to help out his defence. 
The second goal Ennistymon needed never came and they had to settle for a late point from Patrick Kelly. 

Ruan: Jack Hehir; David Hehir, Eoin McMahon; Conor Wynne (0-1), Ross O’Donovan, Nathal Bluett, Ryan Fitzpatrick; Brian O’Sullivan, David Kirwan, Colin Haugh (1-4), Alan McDonald (1-0).
Sub: Ronan Corey.

Ennistymon: Joe Kivlehan; Cathal O’Gorman, Padraig Kelly (0-1), Jack Crosse, David McNamara, Luke Howley, Dirring McNamara (1-1), Cillian O’Donoghue, Brian Considine, Aaron O’Brien, Derek McInerney. 
Subs: Patrick O’Rourke (0-1), Dara McInerney, Niall Canavan.

Board Chairman Martin Reynolds presents Shield to David Hehir