Match Reports‎ > ‎

U15 Co Final

posted Oct 9, 2011, 2:33 PM by Unknown user   [ updated Oct 9, 2011, 2:35 PM ]

Ruan 2-7   Crusheen/Tubber 2-5

Crusheen/Tubber started this U-15C Championship final in great from, with an early goal from Ross Hayes, which helped them to lead 1-5 to 0-4 at the break.

Michael Lyons gathers ahead of the challenge of Ronan Monaghan.                                                                             Ruan's Michael Lyons clears under pressure from Ronan Monaghan

Lee O’Donovan got his first goal in the sixth minute of the second half to set up a great game of hurling. A long free from Ronan Monahan went all the way to the Ruan net on the 15th minute. Ruan, however, were never out of the game and a second goal from O’Donovan after great work by Liam O’Donovan saw them lead for the first time in the 25th minute. 
This was a lead they would keep to the end, despite the best efforts of Donal McMahon, who was now playing on the edge of the square. He saw his last-minute 20m free saved and the rebound go narrowly wide. Great credit must go to Ruan, who were the smaller side physically but whose never-say-did attitude saw them claim the honours.
Ruan failed to score a goal until the 40th minute when Lee O’Donovan hit the target and Crusheen responded with scores from Donal McMahon and Monahan. O’Donovan’s second goal put Ruan ahead and from there they held out, despite a late rally from the vanquished. 
The champions had sterling performances from Michael Lyons, Conal Ó hAinifein, Lee O’Donovan, Liam O’Donovan, Colm Rice, Jason Courtney and Tim O’Connor. Crusheen/Tubber were served well by Ronan Monahan, Colin Waters, Donal McMahon, Cillian Droney, Simon O’Donoghue, Brian McDonagh and Sean Culligan.

Ruan: Colin Haugh; Sean Hillery, Michael Lyons, Nathan Bluett; Ross O’Donovan, Jason Courtney, Tim O’Connor; Colm Rice, Conor Hillery, Barry Heagney; Conal O’hAinifein (capt, 0-2), Mark Corry; Lee O’Donovan (2-1), Liam O’Donovan, Ryan Fitzpatrick. 

Crusheen/Tubber: Josh Monahan; Emmet Quinn, Simon O’Donoghue, Gavin O’Brien; John Faul, Donal McMahon (0-2), Brian McDonagh; Cillian Droney, Colm Halpin; Colin Waters, Darragh McMahon, Cillian Mullins; Ronan Monahan (1-3), Sean Culligan, Ross Hayes (1-0). 
Sub: Breffni Horner.

Referee: Tony McCarthy (Newmarket)